1. Should individuals and/or organizations have responsibility to the public to report any digital security failures?  Why or why not?

Yes, I think that individuals and organizations should have the responsibility to report any digital security failures to the public. The public deserves to know what is going on with security issues and such. If they do not get the information out there publicly how else would they get the information to the people? Most people trust that the things they do on the internet is safe apparently not. Or even going to the store like target around Christmas time that breech in their data should have been disclosed to the public immediately as consumers we dissever to know.

 2. Do you, as a consumer, have a right to know if your ‘private’ information has been accessed?  Why, or why not?

Based on this information from Mary Madden “18% of online adults have had important personal information stolen such as their Social Security Number, credit card, or bank account information”(Madden). As a consumer I absolutely have the right to know if my private information has been accessed. I would like to know a good reason why it would be ok to not tell people that their private information has been accessed. I cannot think of any reason why you would keep this kind of information from people. Every individual or consumer has the right to know something this serious.  

 3. Are you more likely or less likely to shop online knowing what you now know about how potentially vulnerable your information is as well as the possibility that companies may not always share when your information may have been compromised?

             I sparingly shop online not that frequently, some people go as far as buying their toilet paper online, I have limits I only buy certain things online and only from certain websites. I make sure there is a lock symbol in the corner and I make sure it is from a place where I have an account where I can access my information. I make sure I check frequently to make sure there is nothing wrong with my bank account when I shop online. But knowing what I know now I am less eager to buy things online I think I might just go to the store instead.

 4. What would it take for you to change your opinion in question #3 to the opposite opinion?

If there was a way of knowing that my information would be safe and not available to anyone and everyone who want to see it. To change my answer I need to know that the company I am buying from is legit and not fraudulent. If I knew that the website that I am buying from isn’t going to hack into my account and spend my money that would make me change my mind. This is what I don’t want to happen according to Casey Fleming and the poch times “Target appears to have failed to act on its anti-intrusion software on planned escape routes of the attackers” (Fleming pochtimes). And if they could prevent this I would shop online.

Works cited

Fleming, C. (2014, April 9). The Target Data Breach: A Risk Management Industry Perspective – The Epoch Times. The Epoch Times The Target Data Breach A Risk Management Industry Perspective Comments. Retrieved , from http://www.theepochtimes.com/n3/609298-the-target-data-breach-a-risk-management-industry-perspective/

 Madden, M. (2014, April 4). More online Americans say they’ve experienced a personal data breach. Pew Research Center RSS. Retrieved , from http://www.pewresearch.org/fact-tank/2014/04/14/more-online-americans-say-theyve-experienced-a-personal-data-breach/

